Deaneries & Area Deans

The Diocese of Sheffield is divided into 12 deaneries. Increasingly these groups of parishes are taking a lead in developing strategy for the growth of the church in every community.  Each deanery is led by an Area Dean who shares in "leading the parishes and benefices of the Deanery in God’s mission and in realising the Diocesan vision".  When a parish is without a vicar, the Area Dean works closely with the Churchwardens to ensure the smooth running of the church, and is therefore a good point of contact for any enquiries.

Deanery map