New Honorary Canons announced

17th November 2015

Bishop Steven has appointed several new honorary Canons of Sheffield Cathedral, in recognition of their service in the diocese.

Each canon has their own ‘stall’ or seat in the cathedral which they take up for special services.  They also become part of the greater Chapter – working with the Dean and Residentiary Canons to ensure the smooth running of the Cathedral.

The appointments are as follows:

  • Neil Bowler (Vicar of St John’s Ranmoor).
  • Mark Cockayne (Director of Parish Support).
  • Christine Gore (Director of Formation for Ministry and Principal Designate of St Peter’s College).
  • Helen Bent (Associate Vicar, Rivers Team Ministry and Head of Ministerial Training, Royal School of Church Music).
  • Lyn Wortley (Priest in Charge of Greasbrough and Area Dean of Rotherham).
  • Mike Higton – Canon Theologian. He is a layman and is Professor in the Department of Theology and Religious Studies at Durham University.
  • Gill Newton – honorary ecumenical Canon. She is Chair of the Sheffield District of the Methodist Church.

Their names were announced in Sheffield Cathedral on Sunday, 15 November and a service of installation for the new Canons will take place later in the year.

View current news