General Synod Election Candidates Announced

15th September 2015

The candidates who have been nominated for the three vacancies in each house are:


The Ven Malcolm Chamberlain
The Revd Canon Geoffrey Harbord
The Revd David Hildred
The Revd Andrew Howard
The Revd Eleanor Robertshaw
The Revd Canon Ian Smith
The Revd Jeffrey Stokoe
The Revd Canon Mark Wigglesworth


Dr Julie Banham
Mrs Sheila Barnes
Dr Jacqueline Butcher
Miss Imogen Clout
Miss Jane Patterson
Canon Elizabeth Paver
Canon Mark Russell
Dr Nigel Russell

The election addresses and voting papers will be sent out to electors later this week. Election addresses can also be downloaded below.

An electronic forum for hustings has been set up and is now live.  It can be accessed at In order to ask a question, you should register using the button in the left hand menu of the forum. Questions can be asked of candidates, but no candidate is obliged to answer any question.  Questioners should note that there is moderation of this site.

Clergy Election Addresses
Laity Election Addresses

View current news